G4 Platinum (aka The One with Terrible Photography)

I have nothing but love for my new G4 Platinum Dexcom system.  Here are a few bulleted points on the matter:

  • Smoother lines.  I’ve seen some discussion in the DOC about the new Dexcom varying from the old.  Personally, I see this as a plus.  If the new behaved exactly like the old I would assume that no improvements had been made.  The pic below shows the same 24 hour period (7+ on my arm, G4 on my thigh) and you do see differences in the graphs.  Looking at these from a purely analytical standpoint I would conclude that they are presenting me with the same data, but the G4 has a better signal to noise ratio yielding a smoother and more accurate graph (I can’t, however, say for certain if this is due to differences in sensor placement if it is real).
20121210-070115.jpg

How’s this for a double (almost) no-hitter!

  • The wire is visibly narrower (sorry no picture) which means a more comfortable insertion/wearing experience.
  • I ❤ the color screen (aside from being somewhat more difficult to read in the sun):
20121209-084512.jpg

Yay for color screens!

  • Smaller – fits more discretely in my pocket.
  • No silicon cases therefore, more likely to slip out of my pocket.  This is a bit of a problem but will hopefully not result in a receiver in the toilet incident anytime soon.
  • Back to accuracy:  G4 – 140 mg/dL; 7+ – 142 mg/dL; Freestyle – 144 mg/dL (taken about 8 hours post-calibration in the AM).  Can’t complain.

20121210-065917.jpg

  • Getting new D-gadgets makes me a better diabetic (at least for a little while)…

20121210-070036.jpg

  • Can anyone tell me what the right arrow button is there for??  I’m certain that I have not once had reason to push the left arrow.  This irks me.
One thought on “G4 Platinum (aka The One with Terrible Photography)

  1. I push the left arrow to go back to the graph/trend screen when I’m on another screen such as alerts, or entering my carbs or amount of insulin taken. It goes back to the graph screen eventually, but that button does it right away.

All comments are welcome!

