#HAWMC Catch-Up, Days 1-4

I signed up for #HAWMC (To quote the WEGO bloggers: “we pronounce it ‘ha-mick,’ FYI” aka Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge) couple weeks ago then promptly forgot about it.  Then, today I noticed a bunch of blogs on the same theme, remembered about the challenge, and am now playing catch up.  So, toady’s post will briefly touch on all of the prompts from days 1-4.  I hop that’s ok with everyone?  Who am I kidding – I’d like to see anyone try and stop me 😉

So here goes nothing:

Day 1: Health Time Capsule. Pretend you’re making a time capsule of you & your health focus that won’t be opened until 2112. What’s in it? What would people think of it when they found it?

My time capsule would include a glucometer and strips, a full set of pump stuff including an infusion site and cartridge, a Dex sensor and applicator, an of glucogon pen, a glucose tab tube, an empty insulin vial, a syringe, and lancet, and a photo of me, looking happy,  decked out in my workout gear with my pump and Dex hanging off of my sports bra.

I would hope that the D-technology of 2112 will have made most of these things obsolete and whoever finds my capsule will think that the girl in the photo must have been some sort of masochist to use such instruments of torture and consider herself lucky to have such a high standard of care.  Silly 21st Century diabetics…

Day 2: Quote Prompt. Find a quote that inspires you (either positively or negatively) and free write about it for 15 minutes.

“Your walk talks, and your talk talks, but your walk talks louder than your talk talks.” ~Unkown

This quote is one that has been my personal mantra for as long as I’ve known it.  It is written below my Senior photo in my high school yearbook.  After googling the quote to try and uncover it’s source I found that it is most often used within a religious context.  I am not a religious person, but this quote speaks to me nonetheless.

I have never been a particularly eloquent speaker but I have made every effort to practice all that I preach.  I try to conserve water and energy.  I recycle, even when it’s inconvenient.  I try to avoid distracting internet memes while I’m at work (not doing so well at this one today).  I buy a hot coffee for the homeless guy on the street corner in the winter.  I do what I can.

And recently, I feel more confident that when people see me live my life as a diabetic, my “walk” is advocating for T1Ds everywhere.

Day 3: Superpower Day. If you had a superpower – what would it be? How would you use it?

Well, there’s the obvious: if I were a superhero, I’d be called Dr. D and I’d have the ability to jump start lazy beta cells with one blink of an eye.

But that feels like a cop-out.

I think I would actually like my superpower to be some sort of super computing brain power.  I could look at my Dex graph, consider all variables from the day and choose the exact appropriate response with a >99.9% success rate.

No variable is too obscure for Dr. D. My motto: Take that diabetes! (Said with my hands firmly on my hips, and my chin pointed high to the sky.)

I can still be called Dr. D and I would wear big black framed glasses with tape across the nose arch.  The glasses would help me channel my power and my only kryptonite would be Gluconite, a rare glucose derivative that thwarts my super cognitive abilities and coats my tongue in a fuzzy woolen sweater.

Day 4: I write about my health because… Reflect on why you write about your health for 15-20 minutes without stopping.

Like I said last time, I blog for me.  Everything else is just icing on the cake (made with real sugar, not that Splenda crap).

________________________________________________

So, here’s to hoping I make it further in this #HAWMC than I did last year!

All comments are welcome!