Über Frustrating

Typical Dex graph for the week…unfortunately.

Lately I have been constantly chasing highs – it seems like insulin has completely lost its effect on me.  I’m not sure if it’s because I haven’t been taking as much of the Symlin or because I haven’t been eating particularly healthy foods, but I hate this roller coaster and I can’t seem to get off of it.

Obviously my basals need tweaking (as does my I:C ratios and insulin sensitivity factors) but I’m just not seeing any patterns andI just can’t seem to “find” the motivation or time to do the tests.  Truthfully, I’ve never tested my basal rates.  I know what you’re thinking: how have I developed my basal program, with 7 rates throughout the day, without the occasional basal test? And the answer is quite simple: It’s a SWAG basal plan, and it has worked damn well for me up until now.

When I first started on the pump, I was a teenager and I had no problem running high or low occasionally (more often high than low) so a flat basal rate was fine.  Then, as I reigned in control of my BGs, the basal rate changes came naturally.  Now, with a general lack of routine in my life, my basal needs just aren’t as obvious and my BGs are suffering because of it.

So, my goal for the next week is to formally test my basal rates.  Tonight I will do day one of the overnight test.  Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Über Frustrating

  1. Were you able to do the overnight test? As much of a pain as those are, I still would rather do an overnight basal test than the ones during the day because I hate skipping meals (and have a very hard time doing so!)

  2. Pingback: Zen and the Art of Basal Tweaking | Dex and the City

All comments are welcome!

