Diabetes Loves Company #HAWMC

I write about my health because diabetes loves company.

Diabetes is a lonely disease.  Of the 8.3% of Americans who have diabetes, only 5% of diabetics have type 1.  Only 0.26% of all American’s under 20 have any form of diabetes – I was one of those 0.26% for 14 years of my life.  I’ve never really lived my life without diabetes but at the same time, I had no idea how other diabetics lived their lives.

When I first discovered the DOC, I clicked through blog after blog and read for hours, drinking in all of the information and anecdotes.  I suddenly felt, for the first time in my life, that diabetes was something I could tackle.  Up until that point, I had chosen to live my D-life mostly in denial but my new boyfriend, M, had been putting on the pressure for me to take better care of myself.  Before the DOC, the activation energy just seemed too high and I didn’t want to even try for fear of failure.  But suddenly there were SO MANY people living with this disease, my disease, that it suddenly didn’t seem impossible anymore.

So, as selfish as it sounds, I blog for me.  I am immersing myself in a community of people who are all living with and struggling through the same things as me.  And I am putting myself in a position where I can be a role model to others because it forces me to take an honest look at myself and be the best PWD I can.  If someone else comes along and reads what I have to say and is helped, then I am fine with that too.

___________

Today’s post is in response to the month-long blogging challenge hosted by wegohealth.org.

One thought on “Diabetes Loves Company #HAWMC

  1. Pingback: #HAWMC Catch-Up, Days 1-4 | Dex and the City

All comments are welcome!

