#DSMA Blog Carnival

Social media has played a fairly big role in turning my D-life around.  And, although I am not often an active participant, I enjoy seeing what the DOC has to say on the weekly #DSMA chats.  This post is part of the #DSMA Blog Carnival where D-bloggers across the web are called to blog in response to a single question. (In 140 characters or more.)

And that question is:

“The most awesome thing I have done in spite of diabetes is . . . .”

This is a tough question for me to answer.  I was dx’d at age 6, so for me, everything I have done has been done in spite of diabetes.  I could sit here and make a list of my proudest accomplishments but that’s not really my style… Instead I will list what I didn’t do.

I didn’t let D stop me from attending summer camp with my friends, or going on overnight school trips to other states.  I didn’t let D keep me from going to the college I wanted to go to, even though it was 600 miles from home.  And, I never used D as an excuse when I was faced with a task I was afraid I couldn’t handle.  D is a huge part of my life, but it has never stopped me from doing anything that I want to do.  (Except maybe having seconds at dessert time.)

I have achieved many things that I am proud of, both academically and socially, but I have always tried to keep D in the background and not allow it to influence my decisions or determine my fate.  I feel that if I were to say that these things were accomplished in spite of D, I would be giving D power over my life – as if I were saying that I could have done more if I didn’t have D to deal with.  I do not believe that to be true and thus, it is something I refuse to do.

——

This post is my February entry in the DSMA Blog Carnival.  If you’d like to participate too, you can get all of the information at http://diabetessocmed.com/2011/introducing-the-dsma-blog-carnival/ Thanks, #DSMA for the great blog topic! Check out the #DSMA blog for links to other Carnival entries.

2 thoughts on “#DSMA Blog Carnival

  1. I love “Dex in the City!” Thank you for participating in the DSMA blog carnival. Wow, You’ve been living with diabetes for a while and I enjoyed reading what you didn’t allow diabetes to stop you in the things you wanted to do in life.

    Cerise

  2. I loved your take on the topic turning it around into a list of things you DIDN’T do with diabetes. So awesome to live your life first and not let diabetes take over.

All comments are welcome!

