T:slim – first impressions

20131128-134323.jpg
It’s Thanksgiving and today I’m thankful for life-sustaining medical technology that’s also nice to look at and easy to use. My new touch screen pancreas t:slim insulin pump arrived on Tuesday and after 24 hours of patience, I ran out. So I opened the box, unwrapped my new toy durable medical equipment and began my d-life again without the hassle of dialing in carbs and BG values. It’s been a measly 18 hours since I first plugged her in (name pending) but I’ve already identified a few pros and cons about the newest member if my diabetes team. Since today’s a holiday I’m leaving this post in bullets but I assure you I’ll do my best to update this post as my experience with the t:slim evolves.

Pros:
• Touch screen!!! Hello 21st century.
• Back button and Home button
• Bolus calculator – as in “I had 10+6+32+1+7g of carbs, bolus please!”
• Pretty, shines, modern, relatively small
• Copy/paste basal program – build a new basal program without having to start from scratch.
• Basal program includes ISF, I:C, and target BG
• I:C can be entered in half grams
• IOB on home screen
• 75 xtra units – see cons for explanation.
• Great history menu includes entered BGs, blouses split by type and if the calculated dose was overridden.

Cons Less awesome things:
• Touch screen less responsive than I expected
• 9 button key pad, as in three letters per button. But you only need this for naming basal programs so who really cares?
• Very slow priming and insulin delivery. Ugh!
• Only corrects for low blood sugars under 60 so I need to be a bit more conscious when dosing food with lower BGs
• Clip is a bit poorly placed on the case – only slightly north of center so the pump hangs forward while clipped to my pocket.
• Leur lock connector in awkward position and I can’t seem to hide it.
• Uses close to 50u to ready cartridge and prime 23in tube ( as opposed to about 25 for the ping) so the xtra 100 units I fill are really only and extra 75.

Unsure:
• Wall charger – I was directly connected to the grid for about 10 min this morning
• Multiple confirmation screens before bolus initiates.

And that’s all I got for now.

2 thoughts on “T:slim – first impressions

  1. Pingback: t:slim touch screen | Dex and the City

  2. Pingback: Scary 4am Low: A Cautionary Tale | Dex and the City

All comments are welcome!

